Catherine E. De Vries holds the Generali Chair in European Policies and is a professor of political science at Bocconi University, a Research Associate at the Dondena Centre for Research on Social Dynamics and Public Policy, the CLEAN Unit for the Economic Analysis of Crime of the BAFFI-CAREFIN research center and the Bocconi COVID crisis lab. Catherine's work examines the key challenges facing the European continent today, such as Euroscepticism, political fragmentation, migration and corruption. Her my current project examines the conditions under which economic hardship affects support for socially conservative political agendas. This research project (LOSS) is funded through a Consolidator grant by the European Research Council.

Her first book Euroscepticism and the Future of European integration (Oxford University Press) received the European Union Studies Association Best Book in EU Studies Award, and was listed in the Financial Times top-5 books to read about Europe’s future. Her second book Political Entrepreneurs: The Rise of Challenger Parties in Europe, co-authored with Sara Hobolt (LSE), was published with Princeton University Press in 2020. It was featured in the Washington Post Monkey Cage Blog and Politico. Her third book Money Flows: The Political Consequences of Migrant Remittances, co-authored with David Doyle (Oxford), Hector Solaz (Bocconi), and Katerina Tertytchnaya, was published with Oxford University Press in 2024.

Next to books, Catherine has published numerous articles on topics spanning the fields of political behaviour, comparative European politics and political economy in journals including the American Political Science Review, Annual Review of Political Science, the Journal of Politics and International Organization. She also serves on many journal boards. 

For my societal impact, Catherine was selected a Young Global Leader in the World Economic Forum in 2013. In 2014, She was awarded the Emerging Scholar Award from the Elections, Voting Behavior and Public Opinion Section of the American Political Science Association. For more information see:


Modificato il 22/02/2024